Post Projects – The Lightbulb

I’ve been busy lately, just not necessarily taking any time to blog about it. At all. But I thought the time had come to collect the piles of photos I’ve got into something documenting some of the cool stuff I’ve done.

So, one at a time, starting earlier this summer.

I made a lightbulb!

Instructables.com has a lot of great projects, posted by the people who made them. Step by step, easy to follow, and often pretty creative.

For the lightbulb, I followed this Instructable : http://www.instructables.com/id/Homemade-Lightbulb/

New tools! In the interest of staying alive, or at least keeping myself from having extra piercings, I got a drill press. At the time, I had to have it in my kitchen.

New tools! In the interest of staying alive, or at least keeping myself from having extra piercings, I got a drill press. At the time, I had to have it in my kitchen.

The drill press helped me put axial holes through these screws. It was not easy. I was happy that I bought so many extra. There was a lot of "practicing".

The drill press helped me put axial holes through these screws. It was not easy. I was happy that I bought so many extra. There was a lot of “practicing”.

The cap and electrodes went together very easily. Through the screws, heatshrink to insulate it, and JB welded on.

The cap and electrodes went together very easily. Through the screws, heatshrink to insulate it, and JB welded on.

Top view of the lid. There are 4 screws to help get rid of the air in the jar. The others are sealed off.

Top view of the lid. There are 4 screws to help get rid of the air in the jar. The others are sealed off.

The instructions said to use dry ice to remove air from the jar. I used way too much.

The instructions said to use dry ice to remove air from the jar. I used way too much.

Dry ice gave me water condensation. Next try I used good ol' baking soda and vinegar, and poured the CO2 into the jar. MUCH better.

Dry ice gave me water condensation. Next try I used good ol’ baking soda and vinegar, and poured the CO2 into the jar. MUCH better.

Full jar - pencil lead filament in place.

Full jar – pencil lead filament in place.

It gets a little smokey in there the first time you power it. It goes away though.

It gets a little smokey in there the first time you power it. It goes away though.

The glow! The searing fire of my own creation!  It burned with the fire of a thousand suns for 2 seconds that I didn't have my camera ready. Then the filament burned out.  Ah, science.

The glow! The searing fire of my own creation!
It burned with the fire of a thousand suns for 2 seconds that I didn’t have my camera ready. Then the filament burned out.
Ah, science.

~ by jesstracey on October 4, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
