Run For Your Lives 2012 – So Cal

Last week I took time off work to spend time with my cousins in California and run in the Run For Your Lives race. Running with family away from zombies is a highly recommended vacation! I wish I had some muddy pictures, and some zombie pictures, but those are on my cousin’s camera and I haven’t gotten them yet.

 

Kendal and Ray on the trail to the start line

 

The race site was beautiful!

This was a perfect race. Beautiful site, good obstacles, perfect zombie/human ratio, lots of fun. Only half of our Yooper Anti-Zombie Squad made it out alive, but all of us finished the course. Alive or not, it was one of the best races I’ve ever done. I can’t recommend this one enough, if anyone is waffling on signing up. I do have to say, your time will suck. It took us over an hour to do this 5k together. It’s easy to get separated from your people. You will want to wait, and then be chased by a zombie. These things happen. You will have fun, you will scream as zombies try to get you. DO IT.
Afterwards, we had a relaxing night of Dave and Busters. Glorious games! We had enough tickets in the end for trinkets, and a good time was had by all.

My first time to Dave and Busters. Skeeball was absolutely necessary.

The next day we went to Hollywood! I got us tickets to IRIS by Cirque du Soleil. It was an amazing show, and I would love to see it again.

Of COURSE The Shatner has a star!

 

 

Obligatory sign photo. You’re welcome.

 

We also found time to be hangry (so hungry you’re angry), slungry (so hungry you’re sleepy), and slangry (hungry, sleepy, and angry. Don’t get this far!) So we ate a bunch of things and it was good.

We also went to the pumpkin patch, pet the animals at the petting zoo, ate more things, carved pumpkins and roasted the seeds.

 

 

I am now very tired from my vacation and recovering by working.

Less than two weeks now until my next races. Again contemplating the return to sanity.

Ragnar, I’m so gonna kick your butt…

 

~ by jesstracey on October 27, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
