I’m Not Dead Yet

I’ve been away for a while. I’ve been pretty busy, just not blogging.

Here’s some of the things I’ve been up to:

Macarons! I’ve been hearing about them, and wanted to know what exactly was so awesome about them. So I decided to make my own. Macarons are NOT macaroons. They are light, meringue and almond cookies with a smear of delicious filling. My first batch – Fiori di Sicilia macarons with buttercream filling – was not so good. Tasty, but not good. This is not a difficult cookie, but technique is important. My second batch was AMAZING. They were Coconut macarons with rum buttercream filling. They’re not perfect by a long shot yet, but I have to say I’m furiously happy with them. These are definitely on my show-off list from now on. My recipe comes from Bravetart, the same amazing person who brought us homemade marshmallows.

I also made sweet potato pie. It was amazeballs. Not a word I use lightly. Aside from using a real rolled crust, this recipe comes from Joy the Baker.

Running. I’ve been trying to keep up a decent volume of running in preparation for the Ragnar Relay / World Run Day weekend coming up in November. I’ve gotten to the point where I’m having serious downs to go with my ups, which by now I realize just means I have to trust the process. I’ll make it through, and these races are about the team, not about the speed.

Speaking of running on teams, next weekend I will be in southern California to run the Run For Your Lives race with my cousins! Cousins and zombies! We’re also going to be seeing IRIS – the Cirque du Soleil show at the Dolby Theatre. I’m really looking forward to this trip.

And MORE speaking of running on teams, I’m now the team manager for the Tough Mudder in Vegas in April of 2013. We are the Savage Jet Apocalypse! (Thank you, random team name generator!) I’m pretty psyched to do this one, and I think we’re going to have a kick-ass team.


I also put together my perfect Adirondack chair. I’ve wanted one forever, but since I live in an apartment it’s hard to find one that can be tucked away in a small space. Well, I found it, and it was on sale, and I got to finish it and put it together myself. It folds! Just in time for cool sitting-on-the-patio weather. I’m very happy with it.

I also got a chance to catch up with a friend of mine from Michigan who I haven’t seen since before I moved. I was so good to see her, you have no idea. It seems that most of our mutual friends have up and left the country and married awesome people. I love hearing that so many of them are happy. And, to just add to the awesome of the day, we took a ride in her uncle’s 1917 and 1938 Cadillacs. And yes, it was that cool. (I don’t have any pictures yet… but once I do I expect to post them.)

Ok.. I think that’s enough for now.

~ by jesstracey on October 12, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
