Last Minute Changes

Anyone who thinks marathons are just about running couldn’t be more wrong.

It’s about being inside your own mind and body, and how you fit in with everything else in the world.

For example, my last post was about how anxious and testy I was feeling. It was about my doubts. And about how afraid I was about the race conditions kicking my ass.

Today I have K’naan’s song Wavin’ Flag stuck in my head.

I’ve been putting together my race day bag: food, dry clothes, the stick for my sore muscles, big ass bandages for where my camelbak rubs, my Holga 135 camera. I’ve arranged for my dog to stay at a friend’s house. I’m looking forward to my pre-race dinner at Mr. Lucky’s. I want to get on the chatty bus and meet people who are doing the same crazy thing I am. I can’t wait to see glowing people stretching out down a moonlit desert highway in costumes and lights.

I’m in a totally different place than I was just five days ago. Marathons are a mind game.

~ by jesstracey on August 3, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
