The Scary Place

My next marathon is this Saturday, at midnight.

I’ve been tapering for two and a half weeks now, and people are noticing.

I thought I’d be more energetic from taking it easy. I thought I’d just be bouncier and happier. But I’m not. I’m anxious and testy. I’m over-reacting to imaginary violations of personal space and my sense of decency. I’m jittery and restless. I’m over-emotional about stupid things.

I’m also getting very nervous about the race itself. It’s uphill halfway. It’s in the dark and it’s so hard to judge where you are. There are no landmarks worth seeing – until you have to pass the finish line in order to do a six mile out-and-back so that you can actually finish it yourself. It’s a couple thousand more feet higher than home. There may be rain, or it might just be humid and muggy. My last long runs really weren’t very good. I haven’t run an actual 26.2 since last November.

I know this anxiousness is normal, but I’m having a hard time embracing the race nerves. I’m spending my reclaimed non-running time doing different things – playing Fallout 3 on my PS3, researching cocktails I read about in my Savoy Cocktail book, trying to re-create the Nature’s Bakery Fig bar (which I’m going to have to write about later), watching Doctor Who and Game of Thrones. But I’m not well enough distracted to not know how far I have to go this weekend.

I’m just trying to remind myself of all the awesome that comes with this kind of race, and this event in particular. That’s why I signed up for this after all.

~ by jesstracey on July 30, 2012.

2 Responses to “The Scary Place”

  1. Consider me jealous. I’m still waiting to see if there are any last-minute flight deals out to Las Vegas to run this race myself, but it’s not looking likely at this point. Isn’t this race in the desert though? I wouldn’t worry about humidity or rain in that case.

    Anyway, have fun — I’ve already marked this race for Nevada and plan on making it out there next year to get abducted.

    • I’m pretty sure the race is sold out, but I hope for your sake it’s not! I really am very lucky to be able to do this. I found out about this race by accident, but I’ve done it the past 2 years (3 after this weekend). If you have to pick a race to do in Nevada, I really do think this is the one. I hope you can make it!

      Yes, you’re absolutely right. This is a desert race. But I’ve been used to training in sub 20% humidity, and it is slightly raining here right now. I’m not at all used to having moisture get in the way of my oxygen! My last few long training runs might have helped me more than I think (I hope…)

      Good luck to you on your 50 in 50!

Leave a Reply

 
