Getting Nervous

I try not to get nervous about runs that I know are going to be hard. There are some days that worry me though.

I’m training for a marathon in desert conditions in high summer. I know that’s not easy. But at least it’s dry, and there’s no pesky water in my air to make it hard for me to breathe – MOST of the time.

This Saturday I’m supposed to do 22 miles. It’s my longest training run before the race on August 4th. I took the day off of work so that I could get up stupid early – like 4am or earlier –  to avoid the worst of the heat and be able to take it easy the rest of the day.

But here’s what worries me:

Image

I’m going to tell some people exactly what my route is, and if they don’t hear from me by a certain time to start worrying. Running crazy early in the heat and humidity is hard, but if I run into trouble I want to know people can find me and help me out.

I’ve never had to do a run in the rain before. Especially not way early in the morning. I know how to deal with hot and dry – my 3L Camelbak is going to be half solid ice/ half water. I’m going to have Gu and Heed, stop by gas stations and re-fill with ice. Sunblock and a cooling neck wrap, Burt’s Bees Lifeguard lip balm, spare cash, phone, etc.

22 miles is still a challenging distance for me. This run may even be harder than the actual race. Maybe I just have to keep reminding myself that the Badwater ultra is even harder than this.

~ by jesstracey on July 12, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
