Bald on Purpose

This is going on:

People are shaving their heads in solidarity with kids who have cancer, and simultaneously raising lots of money for cancer research and making these kids’ lives better.

St. Baldrick’s is an awesome charity (with a particularly good record of getting the money where it should go, not soaking it up in places it shouldn’t). I happen to be partial to Team Cirque du SoBald.

I shaved my head last year. Here’s what I looked like (I’m the one on the right, holding the furry beast that is my pony tail):

 

I won’t be shaving this year, but hell if I’m not donating and telling lots of other people about it!

If it weren’t for events like this, I would never have known exactly how many survivors of childhood cancer are around me. There are more than you think. This year is especially hard – one of the artists in my show has a toddler who has just been diagnosed with cancer. It’s a hard, hard thing to cope with.

Please consider a donation of any amount, or even organizing your own event! St. Baldrick’s has a lot of help making your even incredibly easy, with online donations and posters to help get you started.

~ by jesstracey on March 6, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
