What Happened to Two Five-Pound Gummy Bears on Saturday Night

Last night ten pounds of gummy bears disappeared in about fifteen minutes.

I wasn’t in time to see an intact gummy bear, but it probably looked like this in life:

When I did arrive on the scene, I saw this:

And this:

The second victim made its way to the competition table and we began.

There were two teams of twenty, guys versus (mostly) girls. The goal was to be the first team to finish their bear off, since the loser pays for the other team’s bear. That bear ain’t cheap.

We started off one person per team at a time. Since we had a very short amount of time, we realized we needed to step it up. Two people at a time. Then three. Then four. It isn’t a quick thing to eat a quarter pound of gummy apiece! Just look at the expression on this face (don’t mind the make-up, please!)

Lemme tell ya from experience, don’t chew. Just bite and swallow. You’ll be doing your jaw a favor.

My team had four left, in a valiant effort to be finished before the last person on the guy’s team finished. He was their secret weapon.. There was no defeating Moulson. My hat’s off to you, sir.

 

So, we didn’t win. But it was close. And I got the first sugar buzz/headache I think I’ve ever had. I’m amazed at the acrobats’ ability to keep it down during the second show. And that was just the first part of the evening, before I even left work.

~ by jesstracey on March 4, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
