Coming Up With a Plan

Since my last post I’ve been thinking pretty hard about what the hell I’m doing. I really am far too fortunate to not be involved more in charitable giving. I keep thinking about Julius and the sacrifices he makes to help people. It’s all well and good to help people locally, but it’s stories like his that make me realize how much more help is needed elsewhere.

I realize that my abilities have limits, some of them self-imposed. I’m not going to live in a hovel, and I’m not going to travel to the third world, into danger zones. I am thankful that I don’t have to. Very thankful.

But there are things I can do besides volunteering in the third world. I have given money to St. Baldrick’s (and even shaved my head for them!) and Circus Couture, Susan G. Komen (pre-debacle), Comic Book Legal Defense Fund, One Drop, and most recently Heifer International, via Patrick Rothfuss’ Worldbuilders.

Kids with cancer, free speech, clean water, and helping people help themselves by teaching them about animals and making them share.

I don’t know what I’m going to do yet, but I’m trying to come up with a plan that allows me to raise money to donate to a cause that I feel will do the most good with it. I still have a lot of research to do, but I welcome ideas.

~ by jesstracey on February 10, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
