LV Rock n’ Roll Marathon!

Today is a crazy busy day for me, but the highlight is the marathon. There’s also that Cirque du Soleil Michael Jackson show, I have to run at least a mile to continue my streak, and a brunch thingy that morning. That’s my day all out of order.

Back to the marathon. No, I’m not running it. But a bunch of my friends are all taking the plunge and doing their first half-marathon. And I’m going to be there for them. We’ll meet up when it’s all over, have some beer, and I’ll laugh at them when they all walk funny, because I’ve been there too, and it’s awesome.

This time around, I’m trying something new. I’m volunteering at the race. I know that at every race I’ve been in, I’ve been CRAZY grateful to all the people who sit on the side of the road and hand out water, or give me bananas and stuff when it’s over. It’s just a nice thing to do. I don’t know what my assignment is going to be yet, but I’m hoping I get to meet people. That’s a big part of the fun of races.

And then there’s this person:

She’s pretty awesome to me. I’ve probably even seen her in person at the ET races, but now I’ll know I should congratulate her for being kick-ass. Marathoners are almost always inspiring. I’m glad to know so many now.

I’m not sure yet what my first race of the new year will be. Maybe I’ll run a 26.2 on New Year’s Day just for the hell of it. Race against my Athens Classic time or something like that.

I’m still (sadly, sadly…) recovering from my marathon/international flight. Not feeling quite right, a bit stiff, not so muscle-y as I’m used to being. But I’m not going to push myself too fast. I’m giving myself the right to take a 26 day Back-the-hell-off-from-the-hard-shit rest, and then I’m going to get back into some sort of workout plan so that I don’t just fall to pieces. Because I have goals, yo.

~ by jesstracey on December 4, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
