Now that I’ve had a little time to recuperate, I can talk about the trip I took to Athens last week.

 

I ran my first marathon. THE marathon, from the city of Marathon. I came home, and now I can tell people that “Yeah, I just got back from Greece where I ran a marathon.” I can hold up my medal, that I earned all on my own, because I ran all the way on my two feet. It took me for freekin’ ever, because it was cold, windy, and drizzly and I trained in warm, breezy, sunshine. But I endured anyway. Boo-yah, take that.

That being said, I would not have enjoyed it much if I hadn’t been with a tour group.

If you’re planning to do something crazy in foreign parts, and it involves any logistics at all, and you want to have people around you as happy and proud as you, do it with other people. Use a tour company. Trust me.

I sometimes like not traveling with people. Just because there so often seems to be a downer. Complaining about something that’s not done to their expectations. Service too slow. Knickknacks too expensive. Meals never as good as hoped. Gripers have a horrible ability to make wonderful, enjoyable things pure drudge.

I spent two days wandering Athens on my own. It was nice, and I saw lots of stuff that was cool, but I had no idea what lots of it was, since I didn’t have a guide to tell me about it. Meals were tasty, but I wouldn’t have minded eating with someone else and just chatting away (and I’m not generally a very chatty person.) But by the end of it, I was kind of dying for someone to talk to.

Then the tour group arrived. Angels sang, trumpets sounded, and all of the sudden I was surrounded by like-minded people who were there for the same purpose I was, and WE HAD FUN. My roommate, Allison was the best person I could have been paired up with. I don’t think we were in the same room more than 2 minutes when we realized that, based on favorite authors alone, we were going to get on famously. Other members of our group thought we were old friends. How cool is that? Finding brand new old friends?

Priceless!

~ by jesstracey on November 18, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
