Where does the time go?

It’s been a while since I posted anything. It might seem like I’ve been doing nothing, but I really haven’t.

Last weekend I spent hours in my kitchen making potato ravioli. They rocked, and were very easy. Just time consuming. Until I consumed them. (Horror movie tagline? – Attack of the Killer Potatoes, coming this fall to a theatre near you!)

Progress has been made on the control box for the electric chair. Not all the functionality I was wishing for, mostly due to my own ineptitude, but I can’t say I’m at all disappointed with how it’s shaping up. It now has a big knife switch thanks to Davin, and various others helped me poke all the holes in the box so that the fittings could go in.

Here are a couple not-so-hot pictures of it almost done.

I’ve also typed up a first draft of a true thing that happened to me. It seems like a fictional story, but it’s really not. The events of the story have been denied up and down by others, but I know them to be true. Not in that something supernatural happened, but that I had something that was precious to me, something happened and I didn’t have that thing anymore, and I the others who should know about that precious thing deny it ever existed.  Once I do some polishing I will put it up here in a couple of chunks.

I went to a King Arthur Flour baking demo on Wednesday and it was lots of fun. I was the youngest one in the room by a bit, but the KAF people are really cool, really knowledgeable, and gave away a shit-ton of free stuff. They give you a 2lb bag of organic white whole wheat flour just for coming in the door. Then I won a 5lb bag of bread flour in the raffle. They gave away TONS of stuff in the raffle. Then they give everyone a dough scraper and a $10 gift card good at www.kingarthurflour.com. Then they gave away a pair of Dansko shoes. Even sponsored, I don’t know how they do this for free all over the country. If you’re a baker and get a chance to go, DO IT. It rocks. And now this weekend I think I need to make pies and savory scones.

 

The other thing I’ve been doing is running. Lots and lots of running. The marathon is in a scarily short number of days, something like 16 days until I leave. Greece isn’t the most stable place at the moment, you might have heard. I don’t think I’ll be unaffected by it. I’m kind of hoping it will just make for an unusual perspective of the country. More than anything though, I’m hoping like hell they don’t decide to cancel the race. And I’d be really heartbroken about it. I’ve spent so many hours running and learning Greek and I’ve already got my plane ticket and paid for my spot with the tour group. I’ve never been to Greece and now I’ve sunk so much time and money into being able to go. I could probably calculate how many hours I’ve spent running from my training logs. I’m trying not to think about how much money I’ve spent on running shoes and travel and the Rosetta Stone. That’s been the better part of this year. I can’t get that back if I don’t go. They don’t make intention-to-travel insurance. So, whether it seems doomed or not, I’m going.

~ by jesstracey on October 22, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
