Pot Lucky

Today we had a pot luck at work. And. It. ROCKED.

I’m very against pot lucks that require people to sign up and say what they’re bringing. That’s crap. There’s no luck in that kind of pot luck. The kid in me squirms when there is a chance that everyone brings dessert. Such a thing has yet to happen, but one day, one day I expect my luck to change.

I bought some kick ass couscous from a adapted a little vegan cookbook. There was chili and apple cheesecake and chicken and broccoli casserole and cold cuts and chips and dip and chicken enchiladas and some friggin amazing raw crackers with sprouts AND guac AND salsa AND hummus AND jalapenos AND olives stuffed with garlic. And some cookies. My coworkers can cook and/or shop for good vittles.

Luck: Nearly maximized. The Kid Inside: Satisfied and rolling around fat and happy. I declare: SUCCESS!

 

It’s meals like this that make me so happy I’m a runner. (I did about 7 ¼ miles today before work. I think I’ll have to do at least double that to work off everything I ate. Damn you math! Here I come 16 mile weekend run!)

This is my version of the couscous that I brought, based on Dynise Balcavage’s Mosaic Couscous recipe from her book The Urban Vegan, which is awesome even for non-vegans like me.

Awesome Couscous

Dressing:

6 T olive oil
4 T red wine vinegar
Juice of 1 lemon
1/4 t Turmeric
Salt and Pepper to taste

Couscous Salad:

2 C dry couscous, prepared with 2C boiling water and fluffed
2  carrots, hand-cut julienne (don’t buy shredded stuff – you want this really crispy!)
zest of 1 lemon
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 red onion, cut into wedges and roasted in the oven just until edges start turning crispy black
1 can pinto beans, rinsed and drained
Green tops of a bunch of scallions, chopped into rings
4 Roma tomatoes, cut into chunks
1/2 C slivered almonds, toasted in a dry skillet just until they start to turn golden
8 dried apricots, cut into chocolate chip sized pieces
10 basil leaves, chiffonade

Mix the dressing. Then mix the couscous. Then mix the two parts together and let chill in the fridge.

 

~ by jesstracey on September 24, 2011.

3 Responses to “Pot Lucky”

  1. I am a big fan of couscous but there seems to be a flaw in your recipe instructions: What sort of shop can I buy the awesome from and how much will I need? Does it need to be boiled before being mixed in?

    I am going to Ikea later do you think they will sell it?

    • You’re so right!
      I find that there are two acceptable sources of awesome. The first is tougher to use – It’s kind of like starting a sourdough culture, relying heavily on the awesome already in the atmosphere of your kitchen.

      The second source I usually find in foil packets with a warning label. Stores don’t like to keep these well displayed, for fear of everybody running around eating pure awesome. (I’m pretty sure McDonalds has something to do with it.) Find a store you have a good rapport with and ask the service counter person in a calm, quiet voice. A bribe helps. Once you have earned their trust, they will ask you to sign a phonebook sized waiver, charge you in obscure currency, and allow you to return to your home with an armed guard.

  2. Hmmm. My kitchen doesn’t have much of a culture I am afraid. It’s more of a storage area for cans of baked beans and porridge than a place where actual cooking takes place.

    I am a regular customer in a sandwich shop near where I work, I can try asking them for something of substance. I will keep you updated.

Leave a Reply

 
