Day 2 of 3: Making More Phonograph Pieces

Today I didn’t do a whole lot. Just a few little things.

Something I forgot to mention yesterday was the little box that I was making for the severed digits to live in. It was a cheap-o little box from Joann’s. Originally I was planning to use the hinges off of it, but decided this would be more fun. I took some inspiration and instruction from MRX Designs. His propwork is completely gorgeous, and you should go have a look. His website is http://mrxdesigns.blogspot.com/.

I stained, dinged, and dented the poor little thing. It didn’t know what was coming. The dings were sharpied in, and then there was another coat of stain, topped with some Mod Podge. I haven’t worked with Mod Podge since I was little, but I’m becoming very impressed with the stuff. Here are a few pictures of the box. I still need to make a little satin lining for it I think, just to round it out.

The cylinders are coming along. I need to figure out something to make the lumpiness on the ends go away. The centers are covered with brown paper and Mod Podge, then I gave them a coat of black spray paint.

The cylinders are squishy, but since these aren’t props meant to be handled, I’m not too worried about it.

I’m still waiting on some electronical and mechanical parts to come in so that I can get working on the bits that make this really interesting – the spinny and turny and needle moving bits. Oh, UPS, when will you bring my toys to me?

~ by jesstracey on September 12, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
