YES

I’m in the habit of picking up interesting things on the side of the road. Sometimes they feel like signs that I should pay attention to.

I went out for a run on Sunday morning. It was about a million degrees at ass early, but I was determined to do it. 13 miles. It’s not all that far, if you’re determined. Running is almost completely a mental game.

I got up early, got dressed for it, moleskined up my shoulders and lower back where my Camelbak rubs, and put my shoes on. I wasn’t going to let myself get out of this. 13 miles. I’ve done it before.

Whenever I feel on the verge of wussing out I remind myself that there has never been a single time that I went for a run and regretted it. There have been plenty of times that I didn’t go out, and did regret it. That’s how I win the mind game.

I wasn’t very far out yet. This stretch of road I knew was the ugly bit in the run. No trees, just a slow strip mall and open desert field. The road already soaked up lots of heat, and it radiated out on me. It felt like the sun was coming upwards at me as well as beating at my side. I watched motorcycles pass me, and listened to short bursts of talk radio as cars passed me. They must have thought I was crazy. I passed by a bus stop that is always empty. Underneath a shrub I saw a card. My curiosity made me go back for it.

It said:

I stashed the card and pushed on.

Eventually I started seeing other runners and bicyclers. None of them were going my way. I kept going.

There were signs along the path for the Las Vegas Iron Man. Maybe, one day I’ll do that. Going to take some work though. I kept going.

I finished my run in about 2 hours and 20 min. It was absolutely worth it.

~ by jesstracey on September 5, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
